Science, Spirituality, and LGBTQ

Queer Organisms: Nature’s Lesson for Diversity, Inclusion, and Equality

My first impression of homosexuality in my secondary school years and how I gained a better understanding in my postgraduate years leveraging scientific studies

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION-Curated
11 min readOct 9, 2023

--

Non-members can read this story via my friend link.

Photo by Clement percheron from Pexels

During my high school years, an innocent revelation by a friend about his homosexual tendencies sent shockwaves through our friendly chat group. The once cheerful atmosphere turned silent when another friend declared that homosexuality wasn’t natural. Clueless at the time, I sought understanding.

Our biology teacher in his 40s, a warm and encouraging figure, urged us to ask any question without judgment. Encouraged by this, I boldly asked in front of the class if homosexuality was unnatural.

The teacher’s stunned silence and the ensuing disapproval from my peers left me feeling guilty and embarrassed. My best friend teased me, calling it a ridiculous question.

Despite this, the teacher responded calmly, explaining that, yes, it was considered unnatural because it did not align with the traditional purpose of genes to replicate and…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com