Release

Phew!

Darcy Thiel
Curated Newsletters

--

Photo Courtesy of Author

After a very emotional and exhausting week, Dad is coming home tomorrow! I know it could have been a much longer time, but it felt like it was a really long road. It was weird leaving rehab today, knowing that on a Saturday morning none of them would be there when he is discharged.

After a while, it feels like they are family. The physical and occupational therapy departments were really great with him. They liked working with him too because he is just a nice guy and they appreciate him.

It sort of reminded me of when I left Hospice after my husband Tim died. These are people you start to see every single day, and suddenly you know you will probably never see them again.

Plus, there is the connection of feeling grateful to someone who has helped the person you love. When someone takes good care of your family, your child, whoever, there is a warmth toward them that doesn’t go away.

There were obvious problems, but there were many who did their jobs extremely well.

Dad is counting down the hours. They are letting him out at 9 am to accommodate my schedule because I have a hellish day tomorrow. I need to get him all packed up, transported home, unpacked, and have his meds ready for the week, all before 11 am. I appreciate them getting him out earlier for me.

--

--

Darcy Thiel
Curated Newsletters

What people say they appreciate most about me is my genuine nature. Check out my website at: www.darcythiel.com