What a surprise

Self-conscious? Why worry, especially about strangers?

Studies actually found a pattern in 20-year stages. We surprisingly reversed its final stage!!

Bill Myers
Curated Newsletters
5 min readFeb 9, 2021

--

Photo by Kazuo ota on Unsplash

At one time, I was terrified to get on a dance floor, speak in front of people, and do any other activity that put me in the spotlight. That was true even if I was in the middle of a crowd, like on a dance floor. Other dancers around me were watching, judging!

That all changed around age 38 when I had to teach a computer class from videos at work. The first day, I said “Please fill out these forms.” Those papers rattled, they shook so much. For the 3rd class, I tossed the worthless videos and rewrote the class.

Presenting that class was a turning point
Especially for all other public activities

I started giving presentations at local professional groups and teaching more classes. Most of those activities revolved around work. Other public activities took much longer.

Rules of Self-consciousness

Why worry about what people think? Your manager and family are important, but acquaintances and strangers? Are you nuts? Fortunately, such sensitivity…

--

--

Bill Myers
Curated Newsletters

William “Bill” Myers, Analyzes all, Programmer, retired. If you learn anything new, find enjoyment, have a new thought, I’m successful. Photo: 1st article 1982