Sleepless in Cuddly Land

David Pahor
Curated Newsletters
2 min readMar 27, 2024

A child should not question her father about grown-up matters.

Fluffy does not understand, because he is just a toy.
Image by © David Pahor +AI

Teddy can’t sleep.

When Father returned at dusk, he said they had been running riot all day, and the Colony militia had to do the right thing.

Mother was quiet, but I asked him what the words meant. He sat me downstairs and explained. They started behaving badly again after our drones had sprayed the countryside beyond Lumpy Hill.

We had to use more of the magic water that makes the trees go away so our animals can have nice meadows and grass. This made them crazy, and lots of them gathered, almost breaking through the spark bubble of the Svensson farm.

So, to run riot means to behave improperly.

But, I asked Father, are they not only vermin? How can they know what is proper? He became angry and said they were not like us and had no real feelings, anyhow. I then told him I remembered from the time just before we went to sleep in the big, cold starship how Mama didn’t allow the spiders to be squashed in our rooms on Earth.

Pa turned even more angry. He told me I was a silly girl who did not understand that this planet had been given to us and was now our final home. Mama took me quickly upstairs to bed and tucked me in, saying I should not make Pa mad so often, but I think she cried later in the kitchen, drinking her special tea.

Teddy Bear still can’t sleep. I hold him close to my chest, repeating that everything will be right. This world is bright and sparkling, its forests deep and violet, its two moons really neat.

But my fluffy best friend whispers back.
It was their home, before.

In the darkness of my room and by the murmur of faraway explosions, I can feel the wetness from his eyes, and I really, really, want to grow up.

Then I will for sure know how to make him understand.

This text was first published on X (Twitter) and is © 2024 by David Pahor. No part of my stories should be used to train AI technology to generate text, imitating my writing style.

Please subscribe to me with your e-mail, so we can stay connected when I start serialising my novel, amidst the fall of the platforms. You can always unsubscribe. If you like my stories, consider recommending them to others. Medium’s algorithm is not kind to speculative flash fiction.

In my Twitter list, you will always be able to find all of my new flash fiction, recounting Kekuros’ tales of Iaanda, Garnaaq and Sorkaii — and assorted wizards, umbras and lethal females — https://t.co/Y3YrWpfkm7 .

(The rest of David’s tales on Medium)

--

--

David Pahor
Curated Newsletters

Physicist turned programmer, now a writer. Writing should be truthful but never easy. When it becomes effortless, you have stopped caring. https://bit.ly/kekur0