Sometimes, I miss my abusive ex but those feelings are a lie

How trauma bonding masks itself as love and how it returns to haunt you years after breaking free

Y. Vue
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Photo by M. on Unsplash

My dog died on March 7. It was pretty traumatic and not the peaceful passing I would have wished for her. A few days later, I texted my ex to let him know. I hadn’t spoken to him in about two years. We don’t communicate and it’s better that way, but when my dog passed, I was drowning in grief and guilt. Before my ex and I were together, he had two dogs with his ex-wife. He’d asked me if I was okay with him going to go see them in Colorado (we were in NJ). I knew he was still hung up on his ex-wife because he was sneaking calls to her, so I said no. I was only 18 at the time and this was my first serious relationship, but my gut told me saying yes would have been a bad idea. It would have been much more than just “seeing his dogs.”

To be honest, if he really wanted to go, there was no way that I could have stopped him. I was a stupid, naive teenager. He was a 28-year-old man. And being the inexperienced and isolated teen I was, I probably would have put up with it. I put up with a lot of things he did back then.

Still, as I sat in my grief over the passing of my beloved Milla, guilt began to drown me. Had I cheated my ex of the…

--

--