Taking A Break

Don’t worry, it’s good news!

Brother Bhunru
Curated Newsletters
2 min readAug 24, 2024

--

Photo by Mantas Hesthaven on Unsplash

Don't worry; the title isn't supposed to scare you. If anything, I've been wanting to tell you what I want to work on!

There are more projects I want to focus on, and I don't just want to disappear without any warning. I owe you that much.

I've already complained about Medium becoming more corporate by the day, but I am taking a step back to focus on becoming a better writer.

I've been doing open mic poetry sets, seeking mentorships, doing courses, and learning street interview skills. My life has been busy, and it's only getting busier.

I don't want to give you half of my attention or shallow content, yet I've contemplated doing that.

So I had two choices: continue making rushed content that isn't true to my vision, or take a step back to focus on the other craft of writing.

Choosing the latter is the harder part, hence why I knew it to be the most authentic choice. I hope that time away from here will help me focus.

How long, it depends. 1-3 months? Maybe less than that? Maybe more? But it won't be the last you see of me online.

What am I working on? I won't ruin the surprise, but it rhymes with “poultry selection”. And much more.

Thanks for understanding, and I hope you have a good one. I have dreams, so I'll do what I can to chase them!

Kaizen: Good Change

--

--