The Alpha Rejection

It hurts when your partner rejects your views. But is “hurt” worth your offense?

Shagun Sharma
Curated Newsletters

--

Photo by Anna Shvets from Pexels

On a bright Sunday morning, I had just sat down with my tea, browsing my Instagram feed. It was winters, and warm mornings like these lift your mood like nothing else.

On Instagram, my feed is generally filled with memes. Which are honestly funny. And at times manipulative.

Around this time, there were protests against the government regarding a newly introduced bill. In my view, it was a plain case of opposition ramble, their dissent at every other government’s policy.

And, fairly so. It is their job to bring out the fallacies in policies.

But all in all, I was quite convinced with my knowledge of the policy background and people’s reaction that it was a right step in the proposed direction. Up until my phone rang.

It was my girlfriend. After the routine morning talk, she calls out, “Alright, what else?”

Now here’s the thing. I don’t usually bring up political talks in our discussions, because we both are on different ends of ideology spectrums (at least up until that point of time). But on this very special day, I missed.

--

--

Shagun Sharma
Curated Newsletters

Business consultant. Doesn’t publish daily, writes daily. Reads and writes on philosophy, society, business, science | Published in The Ascent