THOUGHTS

The Difference Between Thinking Out of the Box and Critical Thinking

This is my personal definition of critical thinking fueled by my life philosophy

Myriam Ben Salem🦋
Curated Newsletters
4 min readApr 12, 2021

--

Photo by Brendan Church on Unsplash

It seems to me there is a fine line between thinking out of the box and critical thinking.

The former means we choose not to necessarily fit in and go with the social standards flow. That is to challenge the status quo.

Let’s imagine I’m 45, single with no kids but with a very ‘successful’ career — the only thing making my parents proud of me since they don’t really care, like most imbalanced and irresponsible caregivers, about who I am as a person.

All that matters are my achievements and the superficial image vehiculated to the world.

Let’s also imagine that I decided to quit my fancy career and study acting because I’m passionate about it without any guarantee of success.

This step is bold and out of the box, undoubtedly. Interestingly, deep inside, I am money-driven and merely hoping to become a Hollywood star; hence, very wealthy.

I might have thought out of the box. Still, I am anything but driven by any principled mission that goes beyond…

--

--

Myriam Ben Salem🦋
Curated Newsletters

A fur Momma, animal lover & advocate, lifelong learner, storyteller, edutainer, and published author. I write personal stories and essays.