The Doctor Told Me I Have Morton’s Neuroma

Why I opted for simple, self-help measures instead of surgery.

Bebe Nicholson
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Photo by Anete Lusina on free Pexel images

I’ve always loved being active, but activity isn’t without its downside. For me, that downside is bad feet. Bunions, hammertoes, and the occasional corn or fasciitis flareup make me an unlikely candidate for sexy, stiletto heels.

But despite these issues, I continued a lifetime habit of hiking and walking until recently, when a sudden, debilitating pain surged through my right foot. It was so sharp and unexpected that I had to remove my shoes and get off my feet immediately.

Walking around the house barefooted felt like walking on marbles, and it was impossible to figure out which toe hurt, because pain radiated between two toes. The weird sensation left me wondering what bizarre malady afflicted my foot.

I ignored the pain for a while, even when I was forced to buy boots a size larger than my regular size.

The boots were fine for a couple of weeks, but one night when I was climbing a flight of stairs to a third-floor meeting, pain streaked through my toes and I almost collapsed on the steps. Limping into the meeting, I wondered how I would walk back out to the car.

--

--

Bebe Nicholson
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Writer, editor, publisher, journalist, author, columnist, believer in enjoying my journey and helping other people enjoy theirs. bknicholson@att.net