The Hanging Basket Tree

An upside down tree, the inspiration for which, came in a moment of anger.

Maria Rattray
Curated Newsletters

--

Image provided by author

Have you ever come across something and thought: Wow! That is such a great idea?

That is how I felt about the tree in this picture. And then I had a closer look. No tree to my knowledge has such a variety of leaves, or colorful petals.

So I did what most curious people did. I read the Facebook responses, and just couldn’t resist sharing my findings with the world.

Isn’t it just delightful!

I contacted Steven, the owner, and asked if I could share it and he said no…but I’m doing it anyway because…because he actually said yes!

Below is an explanation of how his upside-down tree came to be.

I would like to thank all of you who have visited Glacier Gardens. The Idea of the upside down tree was a gift from God, in 1996 while cleaning up the mess from a landslide that happened in 1984, I damaged the rented excavator I was using, this caused a moment of anger and I just wanted to break something. I saw the stump that had come down in the landslide, so I reached over with the excavator and grabbed it by the roots. Lifting high in the air I was going to slam it to the ground to smash it. It still had a long portion of the tree attached

--

--

Maria Rattray
Curated Newsletters

Writer, author, teacher, fun-loving poet. Trying valiantly to make the world a better place. Helping you to guide the future. Find me at: https://ponmyword.com