Teaching Kids About Coronoavirus Doesn't Have To Be Scary

How to use humor and play to educate kids

Matt Inman
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Photo by CDC on Unsplash

Recently, I visited a friend of mine who has the most precocious seven-year-old daughter. We were in his kitchen talking about the news of the day, when she interrupted us at the mention of the word virus. Since the coronavirus, or Covid-19, is all everyone is talking about these days, I wasn’t surprised she was interested.

She started to tell me how she was upset with this virus. It was causing her “undue hardship” (her words not mine).

So, I took the bait.

“What kind of hardship is it causing you?” I asked.

“Well,” she said, “I have to wash my hands many more times a day and for longer than I usually would.”

“Ah, I see,” I said, “and that’s causing you a lot of pain?”

“No, it’s just annoying,” she said.

“How so?” I asked.

“Have you ever had to wash your hands that much?” she grumbled.

I said, “Yes, I used to work in a restaurant while in college; we had to wash our hands quite often.”

“Oh, I’m sure it’s not the same,” she insisted.

--

--

Matt Inman
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Writer, Tech, and Travel nerd. Connecting with amazing people to encourage you to take action in your life. Let’s talk — mattinman.com