The Loneliness Epidemic Is Ruining Innocent Lives

Here’s how to win the war

Tim Denning
ILLUMINATION-Curated
5 min readMar 20, 2024

--

Image Credit-Midjourney via Reddit

I feel more lonely than ever.

It’s a weird feeling. I don’t like sharing it because it makes me look weak and I’m embarrassed. When you have a few million followers on social media, like I do, it sounds strange to say you feel lonely.

How does someone connected to so many people feel lonely?

Simple. We’re drowning in shallow connections and starving for deep relationships. Before the 2020 bat virus I used to go out a lot.

Now, during Monday to Friday, I rarely leave the house. On the weekends I stay close to my wife and daughter. We’ll meet friends once every few weeks if we’re lucky.

But meeting with friends is harder than ever. There’s so much resistance. It has to be the exact right time of the day. The location has to be perfect for all parties. The weather has to be nice.

These challenges aren’t the root cause. Our friends create these roadblocks because deep down they don’t love to leave their homes.

Something has changed.

Being alone is more comfortable than venturing out into the big, bad world full of war and politics. Technology makes things worse. It’s easier to jump on a Zoom call than it is to travel…

--

--

Tim Denning
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb