The One Thing You Can’t Procrastinate As A Writer

Arthur Keith
ILLUMINATION-Curated
4 min readApr 17, 2024

--

“Don’t put off until tomorrow what you can do today.” ~Benjamin Franklin

I thought if I just stopped writing to finish all those little extraneous things, I’d have a nice, tidy home at the end. Wrong. Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash.

Taking a six-week sabbatical from writing was something I needed.

I had made up a list of fifteen things I would do and/or get done during my break.

I’m unsure what made me more crazed: knowing that I wouldn’t finish those things or being unable to write.

All I know is that I came out of it, and none the better. It’s something I probably won’t do again.

Writers, and I count myself among them, yearn to tell stories. Not being able to is crippling. We’re that person who talks too much, just in written form. Imagine if we were both!

Writers are thinkers. Many of our stories are not new, but we all have our unique take on what life dishes out.

In my experience, I was trapped. I hung so closely to those things I said I would do that I made myself miserable, knowing I could not do them all. I wasn’t getting any writing done either, so I was doubly miserable.

But that doesn’t mean the ideas weren’t there. You can’t live without thinking. It’s impossible, especially for a writer. However, one of our presidential candidates tells us differently.

--

--

Arthur Keith
ILLUMINATION-Curated

My goal is to inform, educate, & entertain. Top writer in LGBTQ, Music, Climate Change. Directionally dyslexic with an excellent sense of direction.