The Price of Love

janny’s heart
Curated Newsletters
3 min readDec 11, 2020

--

Grief never ends

Grief never ends … but it changes.

It is a passage. Not a place to stay.

Grief is not a sign of weakness. nor a lack of faith.

It is the price love.

Author Unknown

Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

About 10 years ago, I lost one of the loves of my life. I met him at 24 years young. It was one of those “fall in love at first sight” romances, also known as infatuation. We had a couple of wild flings. I was a little more interested in getting to know him better. He already had his better. There’s an old Alan Alda and Ellen Burstyn movie Same Time Next Year. It was released around 1978 about two people who meet under similar circumstances. They go on to meet about every five years over the next 25 years. We resembled that relationship. It hurt every time he went back home, and I didn’t hear from him.

Then, at New Years’, not long before my 60th birthday, we met for what I thought was another tryst. That tryst turned into a wonderful, exhilarating, highly-charged three-year relationship. It was pretty amazing. I will love that man until the day I die. But we were not destined to be forever. We both knew it. It lasted as long as it could. We parted friends. It was painful. I was pretty heartbroken. He remarried about a year later.

--

--

janny’s heart
Curated Newsletters

Learning to be a strong and prolific writer! Editor - ILLUMINATION, ILLUMINATION-MIRROR and SYNERGY. Feels like home!