Thank You Essential Workers for Doing This Every Day!

Applauding your service, certitude and sacrifice, I’m afraid I’m not that essential…

Penofgold
Curated Newsletters

--

After receiving the text: Claudia, are you available this week to work at the hospital’s mental health program, “Hurricane Claudia” struck.

Is it worth possibly catching COVID-19? Not wanting to say no, I struggled to write an honest, professional answer. Lightning crackling, I texted, “I’m scared.” Emailed friends for prayers.

Reminded clients to pull up their masks. Handled door knobs, faucets, elevator buttons with paper towels, wipes.

This morning dreamed I was in a still boat in the middle of a lake. Waking, I whispered thanks for health, work, a new day, hopefully — a future. I’ll trust in God and try denial.

Those employed in essential services put on a brave face but are fearful of what it will mean for them and their loved ones if they contract and possibly die from Covid-19.¹

--

--

Penofgold
Curated Newsletters

Penofgold loves to write, calligraph, and dance. A part-time therapist, her biggest visions are for the healing of people, and the unity of our planet.