Three Simple Rules for Having a Great Body, Even in Your 50’s

Fitness is about a lifestyle, not a diet or quick fix

Carl L Lane
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Like a lot of people, I’ve had some good days and some bad days on this fitness journey. I’ve had times when I was going strong and working out every day that I had planned to. I’ve also had times when I just quit working out for months or even years. But here I am, just a few months away from my 54th birthday, and I’m in the best shape of my life.

At the gym, noticing my gray hair, young guys stop me all the time to ask how old I am, and then to congratulate me on what I’ve accomplished. It feels good. It also feels good to see that even at my age, I’m one of the guys at the gym that people ask for advice. I always give them the same basic answer. There are three simple rules to get fit, even in your 50's.

Rule number one for getting in the best shape of your life, even in your 50’s, is: EAT RIGHT. First, I want to make sure and tell you that your fitness journey is not paved with salad. Giant croutons will not come tumbling down the road as some culinary sign from the gods. Don’t get me wrong, a good salad is tasty and nutritious, but it is not the definition of healthy eating.

When I see people who are trying to lose weight, or get toned, and they suddenly start eating…

--

--

Carl L Lane
ILLUMINATION-Curated

English degree, published author of fiction and nonfiction, certified sommelier, fitness enthusiast, and someone who cares deeply about the world we live in.