Photo by Dan Russo on Unsplash

Veterans, Heroes, Sheroes and Villians

A day to acknowledge the military

Julia E Hubbel
9 min readNov 11, 2020

--

As a disabled Army veteran, today is my day. It belongs to all those who wore a uniform and served. It even belongs to those who were dishonorably discharged, for at least for one brief, shining moment they raised their hands in an honorable way to say they would fight for all Americans.

Today is my day, their day. This day, because of my experiences, I watch at least most of my countrymen pay at least some homage or respect (and at least a free Denny’s breakfast) to those of us who stood willing to take a bullet.

Some of us didn’t take a bullet, but we did have to take a bully. Or two or three or five. We women vets paid a very different price in many ways; I never saw combat, but I was raped repeatedly, which is its own kinda war.

Today America honors those rapists, bullies and abusers as
“American heroes.” You understand my cognitive dissonance. You who have not worn the uniform, you who have not been raped or gang raped by fellow or senior officers do NOT get to say “tut tut, not true.”

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
Curated Newsletters

Stay tuned for some crossposting. Right now you can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ More to come soon.