TAKING A BREAK FROM WRITING

What I Did On My Spring Sabbatical Part 1

Arthur Keith
ILLUMINATION-Curated
6 min readApr 17, 2024

--

Shhhh! Don’t tell anyone I wrote a little bit.

This photo approximates my goal during this time. It is hard to get shit done when there are so many distractions in your office, so streamlining it is. And there is no room for error in my delicate little world. Especially financially, where I am hanging on by a thread. Photo by Taylor Friehl on Unsplash.

This is my story of how not to write for six weeks. I have no idea how I found the time to write this.

Oh yeah! I blew everything and everyone off!

Since I’ve kept writing at bay for several weeks (mostly), cleaning and purging my office has been my number one priority. I’ve amassed two bags of garbage, but OCD me has to go through every piece of paper I’ve ever saved before trashing anything.

One of the best things was finding a plethora of writing ideas I had forgotten about. They all went into a banker’s box, but now I need to organize them.

No, I don’t!

But it’s incredible what you don’t accomplish when you have time. That’s because you can’t control what happens on any given day. And shit seems to happen every day.

Below is a Cliff’s Notes journal of the first three weeks. (Some of you may not know what that is. Ask a friend. An older friend.)

March 1–7: Texas. My Mom had several doctor appointments this week, so I decided to be there for them. She lives 500 miles away, so I spent two of the days I took off just driving. There is not much to talk about here. San Angelo…

--

--

Arthur Keith
ILLUMINATION-Curated

My goal is to inform, educate, & entertain. Top writer in LGBTQ, Music, Climate Change. Directionally dyslexic with an excellent sense of direction.