Black History Month Series Vol 3

What’s a Black Problem Anyway?

My cousin said I have one, I don’t identify with being a minority

Jaja Requa
Curated Newsletters
6 min readFeb 4, 2022

--

Photo by Duncan Shaffer on Unsplash

Context

My cousin said that I don’t have ‘black’ problems. In my previous story about ‘How to treat black people as people…equally’, I wrote:

I don’t relate to the victimization of my race. I even had a cousin that told me that my experiences are ‘white’ experiences and I don’t have ‘black’ problems. Whatever THAT means…🤣

Hmm… I think my cousin meant that I’ve transcended my ‘blackness’ and white people are my equal. So, I’ll take it as a compliment.

Black problems?

…I don’t have those nor do I want those and therefore I don’t identify with those. It's possible to identify with a “ black problem” and when that happens it perpetuates the ‘black’ problem.

If I had a ‘black’ problem ironically, it would be that I don’t identify with being a minority

Ok, let’s put the conversation of ‘black problems’ aside for two seconds to discuss the ramification of identifying with…

--

--

Jaja Requa
Curated Newsletters

Self-Help Junky, Spiritual Journalist & Lover of Wisdom.Join me here https://jajarequa.medium.com/membership or Follow me on instagram @jajarequa