When end-of-life care magnifies the pain

Buffalo News Article

Darcy Thiel
Curated Newsletters

--

Photo by Waldemar Brandt on Unsplash

I am going to post a published article in the Buffalo News that I wrote. I love the title the paper came up with. Care is supposed to diminish the pain, such irony.

The response to the article has been amazing.

I have gotten emails from people telling their own stories, asking for assistance in guiding their journeys with their loved ones. I am especially excited about one from a geriatric doctor who I will be meeting with to discuss how to attempt to make positive changes in the system.

I think it’s worth posting it here for those who aren’t local or don’t read the paper. Please feel free to share your own stories and experiences!

“After losing Mom and my husband, writing books about it, and becoming credentialed as an Aging Life Care Manager, I assumed approaching Dad’s death was going to be the best death I had the privilege to be part of.

I know that sounds strange, but I had become educated and knew when Dad switched to palliative care, when his time came, he would not suffer. I promised him that.

I had absolutely no idea what I was talking about.

Over the last decade, I became increasingly involved in his care. He had Parkinson’s and we began the journey of…

--

--

Darcy Thiel
Curated Newsletters

What people say they appreciate most about me is my genuine nature. Check out my website at: www.darcythiel.com