When Surrender Becomes Victory

The trick is not wishing things were different

Jan M Flynn
Curated Newsletters

--

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

My sister has a terrible disease

It’s rare enough that you’ve probably never heard of it. It’s a progressive neurological syndrome, incurable, eventually fatal. Not Parkinson’s, though it has some similarities. I know several people living with Parkinson’s and while that’s a condition I wouldn’t wish on anyone, I’m pretty sure my sister would trade it for her malady any day of the week. In the past three years, it has transformed her from a sweet-natured, witty and vibrant world traveler into a frail invalid who can’t keep track of dates or times or pills but who still has full, tortuous awareness of the magnitude of her loss.

She lives about a five-hour drive from me, and I hadn’t been able to see her in months, of course, because COVID. We can Facetime if her caregiver can help her manage the technology, which isn’t often; the caregivers have many other things to do. Even standard phone calls have become increasingly difficult. But now, with both of us fully vaccinated, I was at last able to take a long weekend and visit her.

“I don’t understand the point of her suffering.”

For one stretch of my long drive, I called (hands-free, natch) the friend with whom I…

--

--

Jan M Flynn
Curated Newsletters

Writer & educator. The Startup, Writing Cooperative, P.S. I Love You, The Ascent, more. Award-winning short fiction. Visit me at www.JanMFlynn.net.