VACCINES AND EXPERTS

When the difference between an expert and a dilettante could cost you your life

Are you vaccine hesitant? That’s okay. But kitchen table ‘research’ is no substitute for listening to a genuine expert in virology

David Bates
ILLUMINATION-Curated
7 min readSep 17, 2021

--

Photo by RF._.studio from Pexels

You’re expecting this story to have something to do with vaccinations, and it actually does, but first I want to tell you a little about William Shakespeare …

My first encounter with Shakespeare’s plays was as a senior in high school when I was cast as Antipholus of Epheseus in The Comedy of Errors. Since then, I’ve seen it several times, which has led me to conclude that I probably wasn’t very good.

Since then, Shakespeare has been a significant part of my life. I’ve appeared in two more productions, King Lear and The Tempest. When you’re cast in a play, you basically live it for several months: analyzing the text, memorizing the lines, thinking about the characters, etc. I usually take it a few steps further: I’ll seek out various editions of the play and read the editor’s introductory notes, which occasionally provide fun ideas for performance.

--

--