Why Black People Don’t Want To Return To White WorkSpaces Post-Lockdown

Because we can’t deal with racism anymore

Rebecca Stevens
Curated Newsletters

--

As countries start to reopen post-Covid 19 lockdowns, I’ve sensed a growing level of anxiety amongst my black friends on the topic of returning to the office.

Most of these friends can’t afford to go without a job, but the racism they faced at their places of work pre-Covid 19, is something so toxic and traumatic, that they’d rather go poor or earn a lower income than go back into it, and I can’t say that I don’t understand them.

Remote working during lockdown has given many black and brown people a break from racial microaggressions that we frequently encounter in the workplace.

These range from comments and questions about our hair to the way we dress to more serious violations like speaking over us when we open our mouths to denying us career development and advancement opportunities.

While we may have put up with these transgressions before the pandemic, today, we realize we no longer have the mental strength to do so. Many of us have decided to prioritize our mental health over and above all things.

Some of my white friends express incredulity at the fact that numerous black people do not want to return to their work…

--

--

Rebecca Stevens
Curated Newsletters

I write about racism, but there are so many other things I would like to write about instead. Help me dismantle racism so that I can get to that.