Why I Don’t Care How Much Money I Make on Medium

Don’t sacrifice your creativity for money.

Leah Njoki
Curated Newsletters

--

I’ve made good money writing on Medium. A few articles took off in a gust of wind. Even I was surprised. It was a real ego booster. Once I came down from that mountain, I kept writing. But as I continued, I began to notice something that wasn’t there when I first started writing on the platform.

It was this constant pressure to write the “right” articles. Articles that people want to click. Articles that break the internet. Articles that are fit for publications. Articles that rake in the moolah. And while there’s nothing necessarily wrong with this, I started feeling that this approach hindered my creativity.

It left my ideas stifled and gasping for breath. I couldn’t express myself the way I wanted because my writing needed to fit in a certain box. Which went against everything I believed in, hoped for, and wanted when I first launched on Medium.

I don’t need tons of money to be happy.

This article seeks to explain why I no longer care about how much I make on Medium so let’s start here. It’s straightforward. It’ll make you gasp. I’ve got everything I need. Simple. And guess what, if you’re reading this, you do too.
Let’s experiment, shall we?

--

--

Leah Njoki
Curated Newsletters

If you enjoyed reading this, grab your copy of Relationships Truths: Everything You Wish You Knew About Love on Amazon.