Why I Won’t Read Another Self-Help Article Ever Again

The pandemic has taught me to be grateful for what I have and who I am

Rebecca Stevens
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Yes, I was that person. Always trying to improve myself, always seeking the latest self-help article or book. Hell, I even subscribed to this platform because self-help articles flowed in non-stop.

Like a drip in my arm, they gave me advice on how to be the most productive employee, how to start a side hustle, how to lose weight, how to raise my children, how to be a good wife, how to be self-confident. You name it, I was there, and like a drug addict in need of a constant fix, I gobbled them up. I tried every single piece of advice. It made me feel good that I was trying to self-improve but the reality is that none of the improvements were ever sustainable.

And then I realized that almost all self-help wasn’t exactly written with me, a black woman in mind. Self-help mainly works when you have the white privilege or the male privilege to follow it up. If you don’t have either of those, you are outta luck.

But then over the pandemic, like most people in the world, I was forced to take a long hard look at myself. Within the confines of my four walls, I could no longer escape to the next shopping mall, the gym, or the next business trip. I was looking at myself in…

--

--

Rebecca Stevens
ILLUMINATION-Curated

I write about racism, but there are so many other things I would like to write about instead. Help me dismantle racism so that I can get to that.