TRYING2️⃣UNDERSTAND

Why Most People Do Not Learn From Others’ Struggle and Experience

Is this yet another ‘no pain, no gain’ example?

Borut
Curated Newsletters
4 min readMar 8, 2021

--

Leopard jumpstart Europe games © Maria Camacho, fantasyartdesign.com

I am one of those overprotective parents. I am aware of it, but I can hardly do much about it. I learn things all the time, but I still struggle to let my son enjoy his life and learn as much as possible from his childhood. So I tend to mess up now and then. I only hope to learn a new thing every time and not to repeat mistakes.

One day we were running around the pool with my son chasing each other. He tripped on a slightly raised crack in the floor and fell. When he stood up, he looked at me in tears and asked: “Daddy, why didn’t you warn me?”

I was shocked. He was running around with me, carelessly counting on me to warn him every time I saw a potential danger. Was that what I did every time I preached about what to be aware of and what not to do? Making him relying on me?

I just wanted him to learn and remember every time I (thought) taught him a lesson. But instead, he started relying on me and never learning a thing from a specific situation.

How is that possible? When I see someone failing, I tend to learn a valuable lesson offered to me for free.

--

--

Borut
Curated Newsletters

Question the mainstream. Not blindly follow the herd. Uncover the facts. Reveal the truth. Seek and connect with like-minded curious truth-seekers.