Why Singles Should Beware of “Foodie Calls”

We should lead with authenticity and skip ulterior motives.

Sean Kernan
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Image via Freepik.com

I was showing my dad the features on Tinder, as he casually looked from at a woman’s profile that was presented. He is happily married to my mother, but was curious about all the craze.

“So swiping right means yes, and swiping left means no?” He said, inquisitively.

“Yup. That’s pretty much it.” I said, amused at his fascination. I let him try a few swipes, and watched as he became discerning all of a sudden.

He said, “Man. I would have loved this when we were at the Naval Academy (which was all men at the time). Also, Sean, you really need better pictures for your profile,” he said, handing me my phone back. He wasn’t wrong.

I’d tumbled into the single world in 2013, just after Tinder became mainstream. I’d long heard of dating apps with extreme and mixed reviews in all directions. But there was no denying that more and more couples cited them as their progenitor.

I went in with high hopes but was realistic. On some dates, we hit it off. On others, my date seemingly hated the mere sight of me. One woman gave one-word answers to every question I asked while looking down at the table, miserable. Our date dragged on for one long hour before I…

--

--

Sean Kernan
ILLUMINATION-Curated

I'm a nommer. Submit your articles to my publication Corporate Underbelly and I'll try to help you get boosted.