I Am a Single Monitor Guy, and I Don’t Need a Second Monitor Setup

By the way, you have a second screen — It’s your phone.

I, Napoleon B.
ILLUMINATION-Curated
4 min readApr 20, 2021

--

You may say it is multi-monitor envy. I was thinking about getting another monitor to add to my remote work home office setup.

I am a writer, and some of my stories require research. My Google Chrome tabs are everywhere. I switch between tabs, reading and writing at the same time. That is a misnomer because I can’t be reading and writing simultaneously, but writers know what I am talking about.

My laptop is old, but it gets the job done. Until money comes in from writing, I will stop looking at the new Apple Mac Mini, my next computer of choice ever since M.G. Siegler talked about the new Apple M1 chip.

I am convinced that I need an extra monitor and comes with it a better writing workflow. Call it decision paralysis, instead of writing; I spent days looking for a second monitor, the one I can afford.

A Single Monitor Manifesto

I was about to hit the buy button when a voice in my head kept nagging me about the impending purchase. The conversation is long, and I don’t want to go into details, but it was tiring. The push and pull and the indecision were a complete waste of time.

I am glad I withheld the purchase. I consulted our dear friend Google first about the pros and cons of a multi-monitor setup. When I read this story from Corey House, the article is old, but it made sense.

I have to double slap myself from even considering a multi-monitor setup. The key point in this article is that we are not wired to multi-focus.

While most would say that having two screens is better than one, and some would die defending their multi-monitor setup. I will not argue with anyone.

I am here for myself, to take care of my needs and cater to my best interest.

As a writer, I do two things, read and write. But ditching the purchase of a second computer monitor doesn’t solve my problem, “How to be more productive with my old laptop?”

I open too many Google Chrome tabs.

Hallelujah, I found my solution, and yes, Virginia, it still calls for a second screen, but let me explain. — The second screen is my old iPhone 6S.

From Google;

Share pages with yourself

1. On your computer, open Chrome.

2. Sign in to your Google Account and turn on sync in Chrome.

3. Go to the page you want to share.

4. Click the address bar >Share

5. Choose a device.

6. On your chosen device, you will get a notification about the page you’ve shared with yourself.

Tip: You can also right-click on a link or a page. Send to your devices.

You may ask why not just do a search on your mobile phone, which you can, or do a voice search or even look at the recently closed tabs on your phones. As long as your devices are synced, you can choose to do that, too.

There are many paths to the top of the mountain, but the view is always the same.”― Chinese Proverb.

Bonus Tip: Reading is Fundamental, Okurr!

Chromecast with Google TV
Courtesy of Wikimedia: Author: Y2kcrazyjoker4

A Chromecast with Google TV will make it easy for you to cast a tab to another screen, like your big ass smart TV.

Like my laptop, my iPhone 6S, I have an old LCD TV that I am now using as a smart TV with the help of an Android TV box.

With the Airscreen app that is native to my android TV box and my iPhone 6S Screen Mirror, I can display the web page on a much bigger display, my old 32 inch TV.

While reading as I write is a form of distraction, there are times when it is acceptable to include it in your workflow.

Perfection stifles creativity and productivity.

Takeaway

When I was new to photography, my Dad always says, that the best equipment is the one you have or afford. We sometimes fall into the trap of buying new gear to be better at what we do.

There is nothing wrong with upgrading, but like in photography, a new laptop or a multi-monitor will not make me become a better writer.

But that said, this year, as soon as the Universe conspires, I will buy myself the new Apple Mac Mini and a 24 inch 4K monitor.

By the way, I tweeted Cory House, and to this day, he still uses a single monitor setup.

Yep still a single 4K.

Disclosure

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

--

--

I, Napoleon B.
ILLUMINATION-Curated

We all have good stories to tell, and I choose to write them myself. You can donate to my writing journey here: https://square.link/u/5EZrNONS