Your Strong Friends are Getting the Short End of the Stick

How to support emotionally strong people

Lindsay Rae Brown
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Photo by Kirsten Marie on Unsplash

I am still best friends with all of my girls from high school. Maybe this is because I’m too introverted to make new friends. Or perhaps it's because of the specific trials and tribulations that have occurred over the last 34 years I’ve become extremely averse to opening up to new people. Maybe those are the same things.

The point is, although I’ve made new acquaintances, my true friends have stayed the same. My best friend's name is Janelle. Now, I know that being a 34-year-old woman and using the term “best friend” seems infantile. Do we really have best friends anymore? We don’t stay up late in our PJ’s talking about the boys we have crushes on and eating popcorn. Although the last time Janelle and I hung out, we did get drunk and fell asleep holding hands and spooning, so there’s that.

We are closer than I am to anyone else aside from my husband. This is likely because we’ve been through everything together. From puberty to marriages to break-ups to grieving— we are in it for the long haul. And throughout it all, Janelle has always been the strong one.

I would be remiss in saying that I am an emotionally healthy individual.

--

--