My Journey from Medium to Substack

Bridging platforms

Tom Kane
Substack on ILLUMINATION
3 min readJun 25, 2024

--

Bust of a Stoic
Image by Nightcafe

As a slightly frustrated Medium writer, I’m excited to share my recent foray into the world of Substack and how it complements my existing work. This experience has opened up new avenues for connecting with readers and exploring different formats for my writing. I’m thrilled to be part of the new “Illumination Curators on Substack” publication, where we can discuss and promote the synergy between these two powerful platforms.

My Substack journey so far

In March, I launched my first Substack newsletter, “Poetry Genius,” mirroring the name of my Medium publication. This free newsletter serves as an extension of my passion for poetry, particularly free verse. As a retired biochemist and dedicated poet, I’ve found Substack to be an excellent platform for cultivating a community around the art of expression.

“Poetry Genius” on Substack allows me to engage with readers in a more direct and personal way. I offer discussions on various aspects of poetry, insights into the creative process, and even one-on-one mentoring sessions. The newsletter format enables me to share my experience as a writer and editor, helping others to develop their poetic voice.

Expanding Horizons with “Healthwise”

Encouraged by the positive response to “Poetry Genius,” I recently launched a second Substack newsletter called “Healthwise: Exploring the Frontiers of Science and Wellness.” This weekly publication combines my background in biochemistry with my ongoing interest in health and science.

“Healthwise” aims to bridge the gap between complex scientific research and practical, everyday wellness. Each week, I curate and break down the latest developments in health sciences, nutrition, psychology, and environmental studies. The goal is to empower readers with knowledge that can lead to informed lifestyle choices and a holistic approach to well-being.

The Medium-Substack Connection

As I continue to write on Medium, I’ve found that Substack offers a complementary platform for deeper engagement with specific topics and audiences. The newsletter format allows for a more personal touch and regular communication with subscribers, while Medium remains an excellent space for broader reach and diverse content.

Looking Forward

Being part of the “Illumination Curators on Substack” publication on Medium is an exciting opportunity to share insights from this cross-platform journey. I look forward to discussing strategies for leveraging both Medium and Substack, sharing success stories, and exploring how writers can benefit from diversifying their online presence.

As we move forward, I’m eager to learn from fellow writers about their experiences and to contribute to the growing community of creators who are finding new ways to connect with their audience across different platforms.

SUBSTACK POETRY GENIUS

Click here to get my free weekly Poetry Genius Newsletter on Substack. All things poetry — discussion, hints and tips, tuition etc from Medium’s top poetry writer.

SUBSTACK HEALTHWISE

Click here to get my free weekly Newsletter, Healthwise, on Substack. All things Health, Wellness and Science

--

--

Tom Kane
Substack on ILLUMINATION

Retired Biochemist, Premium Ghostwriter, Top Medium Writer,Editor of Plainly Put and Poetry Genius publications on Medium