A hub dynamo?

Juuro
1 min readNov 25, 2016

--

After i already ordered my new wheel set I thought about cancelling my order and getting a hub dynamo. I mean I will install my COBI to my new born urban bike but a hub dynamo which always ensures that I will never run out of juice sounds tempting. But when I get a hub dynamo I will get a good one. One of the best on the market are made by Schmidt Maschinenbau from Tübingen, Germany. I studied at Tübingen university so it’s also some kind of local patriotism. The dynamos are called Schmidts Original Nabendynamo. In short: SON. Those dynamos are more effective than any Shimano dynamo you can buy. But, speaking of buying, they are not cheap. It would at least double the price of the wheel set. The single dynamo costs at least 200€.

In the long shot I would like to have a city bike with at least 28 inches wheel size. This repair of my old 26 inch MTB is just a relatively cheap solution to get a city bike up and running. (And a test platform for SRAM 1x11.) So when I finally build that dream city bike I would have to buy another expensive wheel set and abandon this one. That simply wasn’t worth the money. It will work just fine with the really big battery in the COBI.

--

--

Juuro

Albstadt - Rottenburg - Kindergarten - Grundschule - Realschule - Wirtschaftsgymnasium - Informatik Uni Tübingen