Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance — Review for PS3, Xbox 360, and PC.

Rango
ILLUMINATION Gaming
6 min readNov 6, 2022

--

Source

In 2013, Konami released Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance. A spin-off of the illustrious Metal Gear series, it takes place four years after 2008's Metal Gear Solid: Guns of the Patriots. Starring Raiden, who first appeared in 2002’s Metal Gear Solid 2, the cyborg-ninja fights against a PMC faction raising child soldiers.

Source

Developed by Platinum Games, the studio known for 2010’s stellar hit Bayonetta, Metal Gear Rising takes a spin from Metal Gear’s usual tactical espionage action. While stealth elements appear in the game, it’s heavily focused on the hack-and-slash-oriented play from Devil May Cry and Bayonetta.

Blade Mode allows you to create a spectacle by dismembering enemies and objects alike. Source

For whatever reason, I never bothered to beat this game when I got it many years ago. It just fell lower and lower on my backlog until I finally got tired of seeing it on there. Having not played Metal Gear in many years, I figured it was a good time to get on it. Especially with Platinum Games’ latest title, Bayonetta 3, having recently come out on Nintendo Switch, I…

--

--

Rango
ILLUMINATION Gaming

I write pieces on video games of all kinds. Consider supporting my writing on Medium! https://rangothemercenary.medium.com/membership