X Things I Learned From Teaching Young Children

#3. Learning Material

Kaori Mitsui
ILLUMINATION

--

A quick review… it is about my teaching experience at a company where I was a teacher to support children’s learning after school.

X Things I learned From Teaching Young Children is a series of articles, starting from 1. Age, 2. Character, and this time, it’s about the learning materials.

Seven books are lifted by one hand.
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

3. Learning Materials

1: textbooks

If textbooks were already chosen, all I needed was to just use those. Some students were assigned to have an extra exercise book. That could be either more challenging or less challenging.

Because I was working for this company, I didn’t have to pick any learning materials by myself. Textbooks and exercise books vary depending on the students I had to teach. So I had to do some preparation every time, looking through them to estimate how much time I would spend time on explaining based on an assumption of how much time students would spend on it or have a good understanding of it.

Assumptions based on other students and the student’s previous learning experience had given me a good estimation of spending less time on, and where I had put more effort into explaining them such as providing examples.

--

--

Kaori Mitsui
ILLUMINATION

Writing, Humor, Food, Health, Learning, Tech (3D, AI), Fiction Stories, My Experience, and etc. Top writer in Ideas once✨ ☕️