10 Ultimate Confidence Boosting Lessons

Learn from the experts and change your life

Lily Lum
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Venti Views on Unsplash

A painfully true story, one I haven’t spoken of in a public forum, and only one that few people know. From grade four onwards, I was bullied for about two years when I was young. Our elementary school had merged with another school, and our safe and perfect environment literally disappeared overnight.

I dressed appropriately for my age… whereas the others dressed like rockstar groupies. I was super skinny and a stellar target for whatever reason, bullies are bullies.

Growing up in a household with an illness, we’re primed for some pretty major anxiety, which brings me to why I’m writing this!

I have people who think I’m the most confident person around. This simply isn’t true

When I started taking the bus in my early teens, I found that I would have the worst pains in my stomach as soon as we were nearing my stop. I couldn’t figure out why. All I know is I had an illogical fear of ringing the bell and getting up from my seat and off the bus. This was brutal, and it went on for years. I won’t lie. Sometimes it’ll still happen these days.

I still have an anxiety disorder, but it’s well managed, and I understand that it’s not…

--

--

Lily Lum
ILLUMINATION

Mental health advocate, artist, writer and traveller! Please see my NEW Jungle Boutique at LilysJungleBoutique.etsy.com