12 Tech-Free Habits and Activities That Will Leave You Feeling Happier and More Refreshed

“The antidote to exhaustion isn’t rest. It’s nature.” — Shikoba

Betsy Ramser Jaime
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Jens Kreuter on Unsplash

If you want to know what’s changed my life more than anything else, it’s spending more time offline.

About 7 years ago, I cut my social media use by 99% and I don’t feel like I’m missing anything.

In fact, I feel like I’ve gained far more.

I’m calmer, rarely compare myself to those around me, and can now go hours without reaching for my phone.

And, in case you need more convincing, the Great Good Science Center at Berkeley reveals that taking a break from your screens can lead to,

  • Present moment awareness
  • Improved sleep
  • Deepened connections
  • Productivity and learning

So, what do you have to lose?

Here are 12 of my favorite habits and activities for going offline.

Read a physical magazine.

Growing up in the ’90s, I remember the excitement of getting a magazine subscription or being allowed to buy a magazine at the grocery store.

--

--

Betsy Ramser Jaime
ILLUMINATION

Productivity, Personal Growth + Remote Work Life. 加油: Open for work betsy@betsyramserjaime.com Click here for Weekly Updates at bit.ly/2MZWwvR