12 Ways Chess Can Make You a Better Problem Solver.

Stephen Adesina
ILLUMINATION
Published in
8 min readJul 4, 2023

--

No matter what you do, the most important skill you need is the ability to solve problems.

“We can not solve our problems with the same level of thinking that created them.” — Albert Einstein

It’s time to become a better problem solver.

The cliched “practice makes better”

Photo by Edgar Chaparro on Unsplash

I’ve been playing chess since I was 10. I’m almost 22 and I’m still rated below 1400 online.

Your rating is just a number from 0 to 2900 (FIDE) or 0 to 3500 (online) which shows how good a chess player you are. Your rating on online websites is different from the FIDE (official body) rating which is more important.

The reason is simple. I stopped playing when I got into high school. I played the occasional game but I lacked the discipline to practice consistently.

I played my first tournament at 17 and started playing at least one game every day in late 2020. I’ve been playing every day since then missing only once in a while.

In 2020, I was rated 700 now I’m over 1300. Very slow, I know but it’s an important milestone. It would not have been possible if I didn’t keep playing every day. Practice makes perfect. This leads to…

--

--

Stephen Adesina
ILLUMINATION

I help SAAS founders gain customers through magnetic writing strategies. https://stephenadesina.com