15 Must-Read Quotes On Life From Ralph Waldo Emerson

These quotes (if applied) have the power to change your life

Jazz Parks
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Ravi Roshan on Unsplash

Ralph Waldo Emerson was a well-known philosopher, transcendental poet, and lecturer. He passed away in the late 1800s, leaving behind a lifetimes worth of work focused on self-reliance, building character, and how to be your best self.

Waldo’s most popular lecture, titled Self-Reliance, teaches the importance of avoiding conformity, and to follow one’s own instincts and ideas.

Through his work, I learned to be a better person, to believe in myself, to believe in others, and to find a more profound sense of meaning and purpose in life.

I’d like to share some of my favorite quotes from Waldo, hoping that they’ll have the same effect on you as they did on me.

I’ve spent some time pondering if I should add my own interpretations, but Emerson’s quotes are self-defining as is, and I feel like my perspective might do harm and take away from your own. Therefore, I’ll be listing the quotes with zero interpretation.

The only person you are destined to become is the person you decide to be

Great men are they who see that spiritual is stronger…

--

--

Jazz Parks
ILLUMINATION

I believe that life is about finding joy through passion, purpose, and being compassionate towards others.