150 Days Into My (Very) Early Retirement, Here’s All I Learned

You don’t always know you’re stressed until you aren’t

Pranshu "Maverick" Dwivedi
ILLUMINATION

--

Image by benzoix on Freepik

On November 10th, 2023 I officially resigned and quit my ~12-year-long career in finance.

On Christmas day we moved back to India after 6+ years in Hong Kong, having grown from a family of two to a family of four.

The decision had its pros and cons. I was leaving behind a very solid career trajectory, a senior position, a handsome salary, and a very convenient and amazing country to live in.

I was gaining access to family and friends, invaluable time with my kids and wife, and the feeling of coming back “home.”

Nothing good comes without its fair share of compromises and sacrifices.

For anyone weighing similar decisions and at a similar crossroads in life, here are all my takeaways 150 days after my big life decision.

#1 — Your job comes with a mental load you may never notice

I always thought I had a very “relaxed” job, relatively speaking.

Even if it may not have been relaxed in the traditional sense, I was certain I never let it cause me any stress.

--

--

Pranshu "Maverick" Dwivedi
ILLUMINATION

Stay-at-home-dad who "retired" from a 12-year career in finance at the age of 35. Curious thinker with an opinion on nearly everything and is here to share it.