Productivity

20 Examples of High Leverage Activities to Set Powerful Goals and Move Your Needle Now

What tasks are going to make the biggest impact?

Marie Biancuzzo
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJan 25, 2024

--

Photo by energepic.com from Pexels

You’ve heard me talk about establishing your Big 3 tasks, and how each should provide leverage for your personal or professional endeavors. But some people stumble over what, exactly, these might be, so in this post, I’ll give some examples of high leverage activities (HLAs).

My Process

Facing blank sheets of paper is tough for me, and maybe for you. To generate new ideas, I need a framework — even a loose framework. A little springboard to get me going.

In his book The Vision Driven Leader, Michael Hyatt names four “pillars.” These pillars give me that springboard to identify my “candidates” for my next week or next quarter’s high leverage activities.

My method might not be for everyone, but you may want to start with my three-step process:

Step 1: List the four pillars: team, product/services, marketing, and impact.

Step 2: Jot down activities that pertain to those pillars. Use active verbs.

Step 3: Review the whole thing, then put a star next to the activities that seem more urgent, or those…

--

--