3 Healthy Habits Of The Longest-Living People In The World

Jolie Porter
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJun 22, 2023

--

Photo by Jaddy Liu on Unsplash

After years of living in France and regularly treating myself to croissants aux amandes and galettes bretonnes, I’ve wanted to make healthier lifestyle changes. The profound moment that made me want to change more than ever before was when I decided to look more into the world's blue zones. Blue zones are parts of the world where people living there live longer than average. Researchers have looked into the habits of these groups of people to share with others how to live a long and healthy life. I realized that my bad habits would not help me obtain this goal.

Ideally, I’d love to be like the inhabitants in the blue zones, living a full and happy life even into my 100s! There are five blue zone locations in the world; Loma Linda (California), Nicoya (Costa Rica), Sardinia (Italy), Icaria (Greece), and Okinawa (Japan). The blue zone in Okinawa, Japan, particularly interests me as my husband is Japanese, and I’ve already tried picking up a few healthy habits from the country.

If you are interested in some more healthy habits, specifically from Japan, here is another article I wrote covering the Japanese habits I am trying to adopt into my everyday life…

--

--

Jolie Porter
ILLUMINATION

American girl living in France. I love meeting new people and discovering different cultures. If we are brave enough to live boldly, life can be an adventure!