3 Important Life Lessons From Matt Haig’s ‘The Midnight Library’

We all matter more than we realize

Annmarie McQueen
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Ivo Rainha on Unsplash

Note: this article may contain spoilers for The Midnight Library by Matt Haig.

I’m a voracious reader. I usually read three books at once and treat Goodreads like a competitive sport. However, once I’ve read a book, I usually forget about it. I rarely find a book that makes me stop and think, or reflect on it for days afterward.

Ever since I finished Matt Haig’s The Midnight Library, I have done nothing but reflect. On myself, my life, and my priorities. It’s one of those rare books that uses fiction to probe the depths of what it means to be human, to live in a world that is full of contradictions. I feel like I picked up this book at exactly the right moment in my life, as it put things into perspective for me the way a good friend will tell you what you need to hear the most, even if you don’t realize it.

The premise is not unique. When Nora Seed tries to kill herself, she wakes up in the Midnight Library, a place that exists between life and death. There, she gets to try out all the lives she could’ve lived, to find the perfect life she can settle down in, and finally be happy.

Sounds like a dream, right?

--

--

Annmarie McQueen
ILLUMINATION

Writer, poet, digital marketer, small business owner. Join my newsletter for fiction writing resources at https://loreandink.substack.com