3 Life Lessons From McConaughey’s Memoir That Help Me Recognize Green Lights in My Life

You sometimes have to speed through yellow lights to see which ones turn green.

Rob Cyrier
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by zero take on Unsplash

I have always admired Matthew McConaughey. He seems to be so down to earth and genuine during interviews, and you can even sense his wisdom in the many roles he has portrayed.

When I heard he wrote a memoir called Greenlights, I immediately ordered a copy and was anxious to dive into the details when I received it.

As I read the book, I was clinging to every word. It was definitely a reader’s book chocked full of all sorts of quotable McConaugheyisms. I learned so many things that I didn’t know about his life experiences. He’s lived quite an eventful life during his 50 years and has experienced many things that anyone would aspire to do.

I love his approach and optimistic outlook on life and how he uses confirmations (greenlights) as signs that he is on the right track.

Greenlights mean go — advance, carry on, continue. On the road, they are set up to give the flow of traffic the right of way, and scheduled properly, more vehicles catch more greenlights in succession. They say proceed.

--

--

Rob Cyrier
ILLUMINATION

Husband, father, grandfather, writer, and relationship coach, inspiring others to live their most fulfilling lives through personal and family enrichment.