3 Reasons Why I Don’t Use Notion

And why I probably never will.

Tarek Gara
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readNov 30, 2021

--

Ever since Notion became a thing, every YouTuber, writer, or influencer bragging about productivity has produced tens of articles or videos about Notion. Why use it, how to use it, when to use it. And it’s particularly obvious that Notion has become one of the those trends for people to talk about to seem as if they know what they’re doing.

And clearly if you’re a Notion user, you’d think that this is just a random article for me to sing out of tune and make it seem like I’m different.

And I’m here to tell you: yes.

Is Notion a bad app? Certainly not. It’s one of the most creative, innovative, productive apps out there, with an intuitive, simplistic, and easy-to-use user interface, compatibility, and synchronization across devices.

But you’ve probably read and watched so many articles and videos praising Notion. I think it’s time to hear something from the other side.

So why don’t I use Notion?

Here’s the thing: It’s not that I prefer other apps over Notion. I just don’t prefer note-taking, scheduling, and calendaring in general, but especially on Notion. This is due to many reasons which I’ll break down below, but the reason I’m singling out Notion is that it claims…

--

--

Tarek Gara
ILLUMINATION

Product designer by profession, writer by nature. I write articles, plus poetry when the mood's right. LinkedIn: bit.ly/3PGY9Qk