3 Surprising Lessons I Learned From Making $10,000 in a Single Month on Medium

These things matter — a lot.

Sinem Günel
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readAug 5, 2020

--

Photo by Viacheslav Bublyk on Unsplash

In July 2018, I published my very first story on Medium.

In July 2020, I made $11,163.62 in 31 days.

Screenshot by author

Given that I started taking Medium seriously in January 2020, my earnings and views increased fast.

And while virality, to some extend, is tied to luck and algorithms which we can’t influence, it’s never a coincidence.

I see people in Facebook groups claiming that writing viral articles can’t be taught and that it’s just a matter of luck. Well, did you ever see a lousy article going viral? You didn’t. What a coincidence, right?

My $10k month was no coincidence, either. I’ve been writing and publishing almost daily for the past seven months and had several pieces going viral. I made more than $5k three times in 2020 until I finally hit my target of $10k.

I even shared my goal at the beginning of the month in my Facebook community:

--

--