3 Tips to Develop a More I-Based Writing Style

Don’t be afraid to unlock your internal “I”. In fact, your readers will welcome it

Mario López-Goicoechea
ILLUMINATION

--

Tube stations are still empty but your head is bursting with ideas. (photo taken by the author)

Can there be a more powerful artistic statement than Rachelle Ferrell’s album Individuality (Can I Be Me?)? The American singer had already shown her vocal prowess on her debut, First Instrument (especially her own take on famous melodies such as You Don’t Know What Love Is and My Funny Valentine). Yet, brilliant as that record was, it felt lacking, as if Rachelle’s creative output were not being totally showcased. Enter Individuality, Ferrell’s opportunity to put her “I” centre stage.

Similarly, in writing (more specifically the non-fiction variety), “I” is an unashamed attempt to establish character and voice. By character I mean our personality, and by voice our inner thoughts.

The “I”, thus, becomes a smoke signal for our reader and one they very much welcome. It’s the permission we grant them to join us.

Some non-fiction writers declare who they are straight away, in just a few pages. Others take longer. Neither position is better than the other, they’re just different. I tend to think I belong to the latter. As a blogger, I realised early on that if I wanted to achieve online longevity, the various layers of my personality would have to be…

--

--