3 Ways to Maximize Your Period of Temporary Unemployment

How I’m navigating mine.

Shadow Scribe
ILLUMINATION
2 min readAug 14, 2024

--

Photo by Marten Bjork on Unsplash

A couple of months ago I resigned from a top indigenous energy company in Nigeria because ‘I just knew it wasn’t for me’. I knew even in a thousand years I’d never get used to its fast-paced environment, and the fact it kept creeping. into my private life outside supposed work hours.

As a newly-wed, I couldn’t afford to mess with my family life so early.

Anyways, fast forward to today, although I am in the middle of a couple of recruitment processes, here are 3 ways I have been making the most use of my job transition period;

1. Learning an in-demand computer skill:

I developed an interest in data analysis, identified in-demand computer skills for data analysts and started learning one of them — MYSQL. I even make daily posts about what I learn on LinkedIn for the sake of accountability.

2. Starting a hobby:

I’ve always loved to write. Far back in primary school, I used to write a lot of fiction short stories and poems but stopped once I enrolled in science class in secondary school. So, this period I decided to pick up my hobby of writing on medium.

3. Reading self-help books:

They say knowledge is power. The first week after my resignation, I ordered several books across the topics of personal finance, sales and marketing, copywriting and positive thinking. And I make it my responsibility to cover at least two books a month.

Bonus!

Focusing on spiritual growth and marriage:

The period of my job transition has allowed me to focus more on my spiritual growth as I spend more time studying the Bible and praying. It also gives me the time to focus on my husband’s needs even as I’m learning to be a better wife everyday!

What other tips do you have for someone temporarily unemployed? Please share in the comments below.

Till next read.

Cheers,

Sonia.

If you found this useful, please do well to tap the clap icon below. Fun fact, you can clap as many as 50 times!

--

--

Shadow Scribe
ILLUMINATION

I write on Non-fiction Book Summaries and Relatable Real-Life Stories