30 Poems in 30 Days

Celebrating National Poetry Month

Adonis Richards
ILLUMINATION

--

image credit to Adonis Richards on medium

For 30 days I’ll be doing a writing challenge. Posting a prompt in the morning and a poem at night. Join me in my 30-day writing challenge!

Here’s today’s poem.

Poetry Saved My Life

I fell in love with words long before actions became a thing

These syllables became heartfelt love letters that made passages massive

Learning to contest feelings with powerful parables I descend into myself learning, living, loving

Poetry saved my life, and I fell desperately for her plight

Silently craving affection as my brain burst, the collection of sentences piling up the pain, passion, and happiness I rose from the depths of my insanity with a smile knowing I found solace in something that returned the love I gave it

Each night I learned something new about the beautiful new muse

And watch it dance with me in the night

Combatting each other till we ran out of breath

Alliteration alleviated the exhaustion I felt chasing expectations instead I found rhymes and hymns that gave me more wins than the myriad of women I lay with

Words changed me, separating me from the idea that I couldn’t achieve my dreams

So I call myself a wordsmith

Writing saved me from these feelings that I was worthless

I now have found the beauty in my

Purpose and arrive holistically past the surface of what my potential exerted

Poetry saved my life. And I’ll forever love her for that

follow my website lucidvoices.org

--

--

Adonis Richards
ILLUMINATION

Writer and poet aspiring to write and create content. Website: adonisinquiry.com