4 Dangerous Mistakes Women Make With Burnout

What to do instead to be a healthier happier you

--

Photo by Kinga Howard on Unsplash

I’ll never forget the morning I woke up with something in my eye. Well, I thought there was something in my eye. After many months of tests, doctor appointments, and a mistaken diagnosis of multiple sclerosis, it ended up being an inflamed nerve in my brain that was blocking my vision. That should have been a sign, but I went on to have other inflammatory issues, frozen shoulder, mono, shingles, and more before I listened to my body and made some drastic lifestyle changes.

Mistake #1 Believing that burnout is simply working too hard or too much.

While acute stress is a natural response to short-term stressors, chronic stress, and burnout are an entirely different beast. It sneaks up on us when stressors become persistent, unmanageable, or simply out of our control. A phrase psychologist Herbert Freudenberger coined in the 1970s, burnout manifests as a state of emotional, physical, and mental exhaustion. It goes beyond simply feeling tired; it drains us of our motivation, energy, and passion. Left long enough, you can feel a decreased sense of accomplishment and worth. Depression, irritability, and cynicism erode our relationships and the ability to enjoy life’s pressures.

As for physical consequences, the American Heart Association reports that prolonged exposure to chronic stress, such as that experienced in cases of burnout, increases the risk of developing heart disease by 40%. Burnout has also been linked to an increased risk of developing type 2 diabetes, digestive issues, irritable bowel syndrome, high blood pressure, and inflammatory diseases.

What to do instead:

Burnout is a warning sign that we need to take care of ourselves. Pay attention to your body and feelings. Rather than pushing it down or ignoring it, ask yourself what action you need to take so that your relationships and health don’t suffer.

Photo by Stacey Koenitz Rozells on Unsplash

Mistake #2: Thinking that working harder or taking a walk is the answer.

Ok, so I’m a therapist and coach and of course, I have talked to my clients about self-care. It is healthy to take a walk, and I’m an advocate for using journaling, meditation, yoga, and other tools. Taking a vacation or changing jobs may provide short-term relief, but if the underlying factors that lead to burnout are not addressed, the same patterns of stress and exhaustion are likely to resurface.

Our society often promotes a culture of constant multi-tasking, overachieving, and glorifying productivity. We are encouraged to do more, achieve more, and push ourselves beyond our limits. This high-pressure environment can significantly contribute to chronic stress and burnout. You can work harder, but you will find it more and more difficult to achieve your goals as long as you don’t address the underlying issues. Burnout impacts focus, concentration, and memory.

When I finally woke up and realized I had to make a change, I asked myself, what was going on with me that I ended up in this environment? What was happening internally that I stayed in an unhealthy environment? That I was letting my health be last on my priority list?

What to do instead:

Even as a clinician, I could not be objective about myself. I needed the help of my own coach to identify what was driving the crazy hours I was working.

I often find that people pleasing, procrastination, perfectionism, unhealed trauma, and low self-worth are the real blocks to women seeking a fulfilling and healthy life. It takes identifying and eliminating your underlying blocks, seeking support from loved ones, finding the help of a professional, and expressing your emotions constructively which will help us overcome burnout in a positive way.

Mistake #3: Waiting for others to solve burnout for you.

While employers play a role in our well-being, we can’t rely solely on them. I’m not saying employers don’t play a role in our well-being, but we can’t sit around waiting for them to wave a magic wand. We need to take charge and speak up about our needs. Waiting for others to fix burnout can prolong our suffering. It’s also not just working women. While it’s usually related to work, this isn’t always true. A person may lose the ability to function normally to the point where they can’t care for themselves. Some other examples might be women in toxic relationships or caregivers, just to name a couple. I have many mothers that come to me as they try to care for their children and aging parents at the same time.

What to do instead:

It’s important to communicate our needs and see it as an act of self-care and self-compassion. Understanding personal limits, learning to delegate tasks, and knowing when to prioritize yourself is what will help you regain control over your life and create a healthier, more sustainable balance. Before saying yes to another commitment, ask yourself if saying yes is saying “no” to yourself.

Mistake #4 Not listening to your inner voice

We all have 24 hours in a day. The question is are you using your energy and time toward activities that align with your values or long-term vision? This misalignment can further deplete your energy and sense of purpose.

What to do instead:

I always start my clients off by helping them identify their core beliefs and values. It’s important for women to reassess their values and vision, and make intentional choices that bring them closer to their desired outcomes. By aligning your activities with your values and vision, you can restore a sense of fulfillment, passion, and motivation in your life.

Fortunately for me, my eyesight returned, and with a healthier lifestyle, my health issues have all gone away. Recognizing and addressing the dangerous mistakes women make about burnout is crucial for maintaining a healthy, balanced life. To overcome burnout and regain control over your life, focus on self-care, tackle the underlying issues contributing to burnout, and take charge of your own well-being. It’s time to make yourself a priority and be the leader of your life.

P.S. Bonus action: Ready to break free from the grips of burnout and embrace a life filled with balance and resilience? Take the FREE Burnout Assessment today and gain valuable insights into your unique burnout triggers and challenges.

--

--

Mary Struzinsky, LCSW & Somatic Empowerment Coach
ILLUMINATION

Go from exhausted➡️energized➡️empowered.🛑the cycle of overwhelm, overthinking, over-functioning