4 Elements Taught by the Lion Turtle

Jake Wilson
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJul 5, 2021

--

Photo by Marc Szeglat on Unsplash

As a kid my favorite animation of all time was Avatar: The Last Airbender. It follows the story of, you guessed it, the last airbender to roam a mythical world. It is quite an analogical fiction and one that even as an adult I don’t mind revisiting. The nostalgia is great, but the mythology is so deep that your mind will start to wonder the philosophical trenches being carved each episode. Whatever, I’m biased.

Christmas came in July this year folks! I ignorantly had no clue that this series had a sequal series debuting in 2012. This series is called Avatar: The Legend of Korra. In it, you follow the next Avatar in a quest to rebalance the physical and spirit worlds. This is the role of the Avatar, to maintain balance between humans and spirits. The designation of the Avatar is that they have the ability to wield (bend) all four of the natural physical elements. This is how you can tell if they are truly containing the spirit of the Avatar or not. It is a birth right that is not passed down by blood, but rather by spirit. Additionally, the Avatar is considered the leader of the world in the spiritual sector. The Avatar’s spirit is one that is intertwined directly with Raava, the spirit of light.

I am now in season two where the show finally shows the origin story of the first Avatar centuries prior. I felt half like I was on mushrooms and half like I was…

--

--

Jake Wilson
ILLUMINATION

Following where curiosity leads me while transparently sharing my journey