4 Insanely Effective Martial Arts Techniques for Becoming Radically Self-Aware

Carlos Garcia
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMay 30, 2022

--

Image by Wikimedia Commons

A consciousness of wrongdoing is the first step to salvation…. For a person who is not aware that he is doing anything wrong has no desire to be put right. You have to catch yourself doing it before you can reform. –Seneca

After having practiced martial arts for over a decade now, both the combat and more peaceful martial arts (Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, Aikido, Judo), there is one skill I’ve learned to develop that is truly life-changing on and off the mat — self-awareness.

Awareness of mind and body before, during, and after training. And presence and focus only on the immediate moment. The ability to see my thoughts and feelings for what they are without sugarcoating them and the ability to be laser-focused on the task at hand and blur out everything else.

The reality is that when you’re practicing martial arts, by implication you’re practicing self-awareness, and if you’re not, you learn the hard way. I can’t step on the mat with distractions floating around in my mind. To do so would be stupid and dangerous.

In aikido and judo, if my focus and mind aren’t 100% there, I could get injured when I have to take a breakfall during sparring. The same goes for jiu-jitsu, If I’m not aware of where my limbs are vis-à-vis my opponent’s limbs, I could get seriously injured, especially if I’m sparring with someone I don’t know.

But, it’s just not about practicing awareness for the sake of getting better at a martial art. It’s personally helped me in my job and personal life. Being able to catch my thoughts and feelings and reminding myself to focus on the task at hand are crucial skills I try to use every day to be a better husband, father, and citizen.

So, how do martial artists practice self-awareness? Here are four simple and powerful techniques I learned through years of trial and error and from wise senior black belts that we can all use off the mat.

1. Analyze the mind before stepping on the mat.

There is no good or bad without us, there is only perception. There is the event itself and the story we tell ourselves about what it means. –Marcus Aurelius

Before you’re about to engage in something, stop and take a couple minutes to scan the mind to see what’s going on inside the noggin. If there’s something distracting, breathe and take a few quick mental notes to address it after class. Don’t try to address them, you need time to process things.

2. Periodically scan the body.

Position and movement of body parts vis-à-vis the muscles and joints. Am I slouching or am I straight? Is my breathing out of sync? Is it shallow? Am I moving without breathing properly? How is my body positioned? Are my muscles relaxed or tense? Am I using strength over technique? Am I moving at the right time? Am I walking with my center?

All these questions affect my ability to properly execute a technique. It’s all about the finer details that make a considerable difference in the end.

In everyday life, our posture and breathing also affect our thinking and speaking. We all notice a difference in our voice when we sit up straight and puff out our chest versus when we’re slouched and have a closed posture.

3. Acknowledge thoughts and feelings.

When I’m about to spar with someone bigger and more experienced, I start to get the butterflies. A little bit of anxiety sets in. I’ve learned that it’s the normal part of training.

I acknowledge the emotions and soldier on because there’s no way around it. I put myself there and now I have to face it and train the best I can.

I recommend you do the same next time you plan on having that conversation about your promotion with your boss or are about to present in front of a large audience. The anxiety never quite disappears and I’ve acknowledged it. Instead of fearing it, welcome it in, it’s a natural human feeling.

4. Assess thoughts and feelings after training.

There are times when I just have a bad day and it shows in my training. I can’t seem to get my techniques right, I make mistakes, and I feel frustrated. Here, it’s a good time for an AAR (after-action review) where I look for areas of improvement post-training.

Did I have thoughts in my mind that got in the way of my training? If so, what were they and how can I fix it so it doesn’t happen again or at least try to minimize it?

Try this technique and revisit what went wrong next time you‘re having a difficult time acquiring a new skill at school, work, or while practicing a new hobby. It’s all about feedback so we don’t make the same mistake twice.

Then, try again next time.

What you are now is the result of what you were. What you will be tomorrow will be the result of what you are now. — Dhammapada

Carlos is an attorney and part-time Army JAG, judo practitioner, and aikido black belt. He writes on Buddhism, Stoicism, psychology, and martial arts.

Medium | Twitter | Instagram

--

--

Carlos Garcia
ILLUMINATION

lawyer • US Army resilience trainer • judo athlete • ultra runner • trueprogresslab.com